GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN

Largely regarded until now as a political lightweight with street support that scarcely translates into votes come general elections.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan spectacularly burst onto the national political stage in a massive show of force at his rally in Lahore on Sunday as thousands upon thousands of supporters gathered at the historic Minar-e-Pakistan to answer his call: ‘remove the government, save Pakistan’.

Turning the tables on his political rivals, especially the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz(PML-N), and making good on his promise that he would fill the sprawling Minar-e-Pakistan grounds, Imran left little doubt about who rules Lahore.

The cricketer-turned-politician told the crowd – which reportedly comprised well over 100,000 of his supporters, most of them youngsters – that a revolution was around the corner and the government could not stop it. Basking in the adoration of the crowd, he said he had one complaint to make of the people of Lahore: they took a long time to wake up. “But now that Lahore has risen, we are unstoppable!” said an impassioned Imran.

DECLARE ASSETS: Imran gave the ruling elitist politicians a “few months” to declare their assets, failing which he said he would force them to do so by starting a massive civil disobedience movement.

He warned the “oppressive and reactionary” existing political setup that a tsunami, and not a mere flood, of change was on its way that would sweep away their distorted and corrupt style of politics. Imran had claimed in the days leading up to the rally that he would show everyone at the Minar-e-Pakistan who ruled Lahore,

Punjab and the rest of the country. There were no two ways of seeing the result of that claim on Sunday: the PTI trumped the PML-N – which has long held more sway and support in the capital of Punjab than any other political party – and it did so with a thumping majority.

Imran told the participants of the rally that it took his party 15 years of hard work to reach this position where it could bring change to Pakistan.

He promised to end corruption and to bring back the $100 billion of the country’s money stolen by corrupt politicians and hidden away in foreign banks. He thanked youngsters, rickshaw drivers, police personnel and government servants that he said had “sneaked into the rally” in their civvies.

The PTI chief said parliament was full of land-grabbers powered by patwaris who gathered black money for them. Imran laid particular stress on his party’s aim to rid the country of patwari culture and said Pakistan was the only country left in the world that still employed them.

He also warned that he would go to the Supreme Court as well as the Election Commission of Pakistan if the politicians in the government and opposition failed to declare their assets as required by law. He said the PTI would set up a cell to investigate the assets of politicians who failed to declare them.

MANIFESTO: Imran announced his party’s manifesto in detail, which he said was aimed at making Pakistan a peaceful and independent country where investment would be attracted from across the world. “We will make Pakistan a place where people come from other countries to seek jobs,” he said. Talking of change, he said: “Today we are beginning a new Pakistan from Minar-e-Pakistan, the place from where Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah began his movement.”

Describing his party’s policy towards the United States, Imran said: “We will be friends with you (US), but we will not be your slaves. We will help you withdraw from Afghanistan, but won’t launch any military operation (for you).” He questioned that if the US, being a superpower, could not win the war through military means, how could Pakistan? Imran expressed more of a leaning towards China, saying his party would seek to strengthen its ties with Pakistan’s all-weather friend. He said he was leaving for China on the Chinese government’s invitation tonight.

He said Pakistan was not a poor country but one rich in natural resources. He said Pakistan had 180 billion tonnes of coal reserves, “which means we can export electricity to the world”.

Imran said a Pakistan he was heading would never need to beg before anyone. “Pakistan will never beg again; Imran Khan will die but won’t beg,” he vowed amid vociferous cheers of the charged crowd. Coming down hard on President Asif Ali Zardari, Imran questioned how Zardari could provide food, clothes and shelter when under his rule 16,000 people had committed suicide.

He also claimed that Zardari wrote a letter to the US requesting it to please save him from the army because he was not able to serve the US well with army interference.

Lambasting PML-N President Nawaz Sharif, he said: “How can you fight an alligator like Zardari when you can’t even take on the [dengue] mosquitoes?” He said Nawaz could have done better than coming up with a show of patwaris at the PML-N rally in Lahore. The PTI chief said Pakistan was suffering losses of Rs 3 trillion every year because of rampant corruption.

He said his party also aimed to bring about police reforms in the country to improve the working of the institution.
“We will depoliticise the police and then get the SHO elected the way it is done in America,” he added.

He said the condition of villages would be improved and pledged to bring an end to the military operation and targeted killings in Balochistan, which he said was a province rich in natural resources but treated cruelly in the past. “We will make the Balochs our brothers,” he added. “Change is not coming, change is already here!” were the words Imran Khan chose to end his speech with, to wild applause from the crowd that had swelled exponentially since it started gathering at around 11am.

Whether the rally and the unprecedented support will have a direct impact in terms of elections remains to be seen, but one thing that was made clear at Minar-e-Pakistan on Sunday evening was that the PTI has emerged as a viable alternative to the PPP and PML-N. Whether it will be able to capitalise on that or not is anybody’s guess.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN

  1. my weathervane says:

    My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform. I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. top weathervane says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  3. Vimax no Brasil says:

    That is really exciting, You’re a pretty professional blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for seeking for added of your wonderful submit. Also, I have shared your web-site in my social networks!

  4. Eva Ruiz says:

    I must get across my admiration for your kindness in support of persons who require assistance with this important subject matter. Your personal commitment to passing the solution across had been rather functional and have continuously enabled somebody much like me to realize their dreams. Your own helpful facts means a lot a person like me and further more to my peers. Regards; from everyone of us.

  5. Ervin Rische says:

    A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little analysis on this. And he actually bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If possible, as you turn out to be expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with more particulars? It’s highly helpful for me. Large thumb up for this blog post!

  6. slovensko says:

    I cannot help myself, I just love Madonna. She looks great despite her age and her shows are simply brilliant (I was lucky to win tickets to her Sticky & Sweet Tour). Madonna for ever — her devoted fan 🙂

  7. Sylwester Oferty says:

    Know any more ways to get things for free? here is a great article on things you should not pay for anymore.?

  8. gratis black jack online says:

    I wonder when the new version is coming out.

  9. comment bien faire l'amour says:

    thanks for your great website , i used to be searching for infos about this subject and that i just found your web site.This particular articles is fantastic however should find out more about this particular topic . thank you anyway because of this

  10. dc ac power inverter says:

    Possibly, has this been confirmed by the developer?

  11. setting goals says:

    Useful…not necessarily entirely positive I realize all this but many thanks for taking a few minutes to clarify that in this sort of detail. I received an malfunction note when I attempted to join the Feed however. Someone else here owning that problem?

  12. SEO India says:

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  13. cupolas weathervanes says:

    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  14. Diana Realm says:

    Indeed a nice post!

  15. American Dan says:

    Nice info, will get back here and read more!

  16. best indicators for day trading says:

    This is perhaps the most fantastic web blogs I have read through in a very quite a while. The amount of information in here is fantastic, as if you practically wrote the book on the topic. Your blog is ideal for any one who wants to understand this unique matter more. Awesome information; please keep writing!

  17. Asley Amadon says:

    Would you be concerned about exchanging links?

  18. web hosting says:

    GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN | Insight Pakistan. GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN | Insight Pakistan

  19. Hoyt Magnone says:

    Your site is very great source of intel. maintain posting excellent articles like this one.

  20. Roger Clint says:

    Greetings from Germany, great job!

  21. wichita cleaning serivces says:

    I really like the arragement of your site. I value the excellence of the information. You have done a first-rate job. Thank you very much

  22. Francina Crisler says:

    What would most of us do devoid of the magnificent thoughts you share on this website? Who comes with the tolerance to deal with essential topics in the interest of common readers like me? My spouse and i and my pals are very fortunate to have your website among the ones we often visit. Hopefully you know how much we enjoy your efforts! Best wishes from us all.

  23. COTA Jobs in TX says:

    This Blog is great, I will definately check it out again.

  24. Armida Deonarian says:

    Regularly I don’t put up on weblogs, however i would like to say that this particular set up genuinely pressured me personally to do this! seriously wonderful publish

  25. Trena Klapper says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you really understand what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my website =). We will have a hyperlink exchange arrangement among us!

  26. tv online says:

    GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN | Insight Pakistan. GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN | Insight Pakistan

  27. Mozelle Schade says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

  28. Wendie Leifer says:

    After reading many of your blogposts I staleness say i launch this fact one to mostly be top notch. I soul a weblog also and require to repost a few shears of your articles on my own diary site. Should it be alright if I use this as eternal I own testimonial your web blog or create a inward unification to your article I procured the snipping from? If not I realise and could not do it without having your tolerance . I change accumulation scarred this article to sound and zynga calculate intended for remark. Anyway realize it either way!

  29. Leonardo Loconte says:

    I adore your wp theme, wherever do you down load it from?

  30. Debi Crisman says:

    After research just a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I actually like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and can be checking again soon. Pls take a look at my web site as effectively and let me know what you think.

  31. Diet To Go says:

    I love your layout, have you considered adding and RSS feed feature? That will allow me to get automatic notifications of new comments. If you set up notifications via RSS, please email me! I will bookmark your topic for now. Again Excellent page!

  32. Diet To Go says:

    I love your site, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the posts. If you set up updates value.

  33. Diet To Go says:

    Did you design the comment this well with the default comment tools? Your page is incredible.

  34. Diet To Go Coupon says:

    I love your design, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a website, and gives the blogs. If you set up updates value.

  35. free facebook credits says:

    All filled with spam :/
    I will vote for imran khan in the next election he is the only hope

  36. free facebook credits says:

    my vote is for imran khan he is the only hope

  37. free facebook credits says:

    Imran khan FTW

  38. Hacking key says:

    Imran khan for life

  39. Diet To Go Coupon says:

    Did you design the layout this well with the default site tools? Your design is incredible.

  40. Diet To Go Coupon says:

    Did you design the layout this well with the default comment tools? Your site is incredible.

  41. DEBORA Laurence says:

    Get free backlink directories annuaires-gratuit.com, create directories for free.

  42. quit smoking says:

    Aw, this was a very nice post. In idea I wish to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account appear to get something done.

  43. Diet To Go Coupon says:

    Who did you pay to do your design? Its really nicely designed I bet that is why you get so much traffic!

  44. tv online says:

    I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  45. blog says:

    Nice!!!!

  46. Physical Therapist Jobs in Tennessee says:

    I am going to reccomend your Blog to various associates of mine, I think you are definately on the right track.I found your blog on Bing

  47. Danielle Lindsay says:

    Good Information

  48. Elizabet Baton says:

    Yea I agree you cant beat 2 strokes. feel cost-free to come over to our forum and commence some discussion in the event you wish?

  49. Omer Isadore says:

    It is hard to discover build a bear coupons within the internet today, I am relieve i found 1 within your site… continue to keep posting much more build a bear coupons.I will be back for more.

  50. Dyslexia Dee says:

    Bonchance to Manchester United and Sir Alex Ferguson on the celebrating of his 25 years in charge of the club! All the best to you Sir Alex – couldn’t be the same without you!

  51. Diet To Go Coupon says:

    What did you use to design your site? It’s really awesome can you send me an email and let me know?

  52. Deshawn Ukena says:

    When ever the sunrise is bright pink there is an increased risk of a windy afternoon. This doesn’t pose too much of a problem if you play golf in the morning.

  53. quit smoking says:

    you may have an important blog right here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  54. Black Friday TV says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  55. john taylor says:

    Interesting read although I’d be grateful if someone can reply to me earlier post please

  56. skull kid says:

    I find it so hard to believe that it was only a month ago that i didn’t know how to boil and egg and no i can actually cook dinner for my family instead of my wife always have to do it “cyber882”

  57. Travel Occupational Therapist Jobs says:

    What would it take to for me to create a blog like yours? I found your blog on Aol

  58. Kemberly Fortun says:

    Can’t wait to see a lot more of your own coming blogs. I will bookmark this great site see some new changes SOON!!

  59. Cheap Louis Vuitton Purses says:

    I am shocked at the items I overlooked before I read this post. Thank you for the great info.

  60. HostMonster Coupon says:

    I like your topic, have you considered adding and RSS feed feature? That will allow me to get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set up notifications via RSS, please email me! I will bookmark your layout for now. Again Excellent site!

  61. HostMonster Coupon says:

    I love your design, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the layouts. If you set up notifications value.

  62. William Smith says:

    My spouse and i read your content and also found interesting material. The Badshahi Mosque (King’s Mosque), in metropolis is the ordinal maximal masjid with Pakistan and South aggregation as well as the fifth maximal masjid on earth. It is Lahore’s most well-known landmark and a key tourist attraction epitomising the beauty, passion and grandeur in the Mughal era. Choose to share facts about travel.

  63. overcome depression says:

    Can I just say what a reduction to seek out somebody who actually knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know the right way to bring an issue to gentle and make it important. More people have to learn this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more well-liked because you undoubtedly have the gift.

  64. wonderlic personnel test says:

    Hey, I added your link: https://insightpakistan.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/game-overnow-is-my-turn-imran-khan to my site under the title GAME OVER,NOW IS MY TURN : IMRAN KHAN | Insight Pakistan.

  65. HostMonster Coupon says:

    I love your website, have you considered adding and RSS feed feature? That will allow me to get automatic updates of new layouts. If you set up notifications via RSS, please email me! I will favorite your page for now. Again Excellent page!

  66. Gege lurka says:

    J’ai adoré ce post, je souhaite que vous continuerez à faire ce genre de document qui sont souvent au top.

  67. Sports Handicapping says:

    Finding a good supplement is one of the vital factors to living a healthy life. For me, this vitamin has always proven to be the most effective. It just gives your soul what it needs and it doesn’t have all of those nasty side effects as all of the poorer ones. It’s also one of the less costly ones out there.

  68. SEO Softwares says:

    Berlusconi’s at last’s agreed to resign – why can’t Cameron? How can the Italians have all the good fortune? Bunga bunga!

  69. HostMonster Coupon says:

    Did you design the page this well with the default topic tools? Your blog is incredible.

  70. vegetarian weight loss diet plan says:

    This definitely resolved my concern, thank you!

  71. HostMonster Coupon says:

    Did you design the design this well with the default post tools? Your layout is incredible.

Leave a Reply

